Team Members

Principal Investigator

Chang C. Liu (Bio, Contact)

Administrative Assistant

Margaret Mulcare (Contact)

Postdoctoral Fellows and PhD Students


Dr. Theresa Loveless (Ph.D. in Cell Biology, UCSF; B.S. in Biological Sciences and B.A. in Philosophy, Stanford)

Dr. Alon Wellner (Ph.D. in Biochemistry, Weizmann Institute; B.Sc. in Biology and Psychology, Tel Aviv University)


Dr. Arjun Ravikumar (PhD. in Biomedical Engineering, UC Irvine; B.S. in Bioengineering, Caltech)


Alex Javanpour (B.S. in Bioengineering, UC Berkeley)


Garri Arzumanyan (B.S. in Bioengineering, UCSD)


Ziwei Zhong (MD/PhD student, B.S. in Biomedical Engineering, Purdue)


Ryan Rezvani (B.S. in Bioengineering, UC Berkeley)


Gordon Rix (B.S. in Cell and Molecular Biology, University of Rhode Island)


Courtney Carlson (NSF Fellow; B.S. in Chemical Engineering, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology)


Jonathan Clements (B.S. in Bioengineering, Caltech)


Ria Deshpande (M.S. in Biology, NYU; B.A. in Biology and Math (minor), Smith College)


Vincent Hu (MD/PhD student, B.S. in Biomedical Engineering, UCSD)

Masters Students and Undergraduates


Ming Ho (B.S. in Biochemistry and Chemistry, UCSD)


Guohao Liang (Allergan Fellow; Biological Sciences, UC Irvine 2020)


Justin Sadownick (Biomedical Engineering, UC Irvine 2021)


Kianna Nguyen (Jr. Specialist; B.S. in Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Colorado Boulder)


Sean Paul (Lab Assistant; Biological Sciences, UC Irvine 2020)


Brianna Killion (Lab Assistant; UC Irvine 2020)

Other Members


Lara Hairapetian (Visiting High School Student; St. Margaret’s Episcopal School)

Alumni and Former Visitors

Mohamad Abedi (Jr. Specialist, 2014):  last spotted – PhD student at Caltech

Adrian Arrietta (Jr. Specialist, 2013):  last spotted – PhD student at SDSU

Anna Dumitriu (Artist-in-residence, 2015-2016)

Jimmy Duong (Undergraduate Researcher, 2014-2016)

Kelsey Fung (Jr. Specialist, 2016):  last spotted – co-founder and CEO of Au Solutions

Keoni Gandall (High School Student Intern, 2014-2017):  last spotted – Research Fellow at Stanford

Joseph Grotts (Jr. Specialist, 2016-2018)

Justin Hitomi (Undergraduate Researcher, 2013-2015):  last spotted – EMT

Crystal Huong (Undergraduate Staff, 2013):  last spotted – undergrad at UCI

Eamon Jahani (Undergraduate Researcher, 2016-2018):  last spotted – Research Technician at Zymergen

Rishi Jajoo (Postdoc, 2015-2017):  last spotted – Scientist at Octant

Kendall Kearns (Undergraduate Researcher, 2013-2014):  last spotted -undergrad at UCI

Xiang Li (PhD student, 2013-2018):  last spotted – Scientist at Encodia

Tate Lone (Jr. Specialist, 2017-2018)

Muaeen Obadi (Jr. Specialist, 2015-2017):  last spotted – Sales Engineer at Tecan

Mason Schechter (Jr. Specialist, 2018-2019):  last spotted – PhD student at UT Austin

Pratik Shah (Postdoc, 2015-2017):  last spotted – Research Professor at Yonsei University

Kyle Su (Undergraduate Researcher, 2015-2016):  last spotted – MS student at UPenn

Cyndi Wang (Undergraduate Staff, 2014-2017)

Ming Wang (Undergraduate Staff, 2013-2015):  last spotted – Engineer at Northrop Grumman

Elliot Warner (Undergraduate Researcher, 2017-2018):  last spotted – PhD student at The Scripps Research Institute